Potty-rific

While you’re waiting for us to finish up the Laundry Room makeover (and you’re being very patient, I might add!), I thought I’d give you a sneak peek into our next “pet project”.  You could actually call it a “potty project” just don’t leave me floating….haha!  Sorry, potty humor just never ceases to entertain me!

Do you remember when we painted our potty? And then like a bad teaser trailer, I didn’t include it on The Nickel Tour! The gall!  Then Santa gave us a cute little storage cabinet to house our toiletry essentials in the Powder Room.  And then we *still* didn’t include it on the tour!  Blasphemous!  In case you couldn’t tell, we are feeling a little embarrassed by the state of our commode (sometimes these things take time to work out…*ahem*…).  And you may recall that we included a few pics to whet your whistle back in the day of a “dream potty”….

Courtesy Lonny Magazine

Love the stripes!  Love the idea of something sophisticated and yet vintage at the same time.  Love the idea of something that bridges both masculine and feminine….but then I looked here…

Our Laundry Room before the reno...and stripey...

….here….

Our Guest Bedroom...with more stripes...

….and here…..

Guest bathroom shower curtain....with, you guessed it! STRIPES!

….and I said to myself, “Self, you seriously have a stripe addiction!  And *why* shouldn’t you?!  It’s a wonderful pattern, both masculine and feminine, encompassing order, color, and a little dash of whimsy.  What’s *not* to love?!”  Actually, nothing is not to love (can I say that??), but I thought it might be time to try something a little different….In fact, both Dr. J and I had been talking about adding some sort of stencil to the potty wall (in a bronze-y tone using a paint additive to bring some shimmer and sparkle to the ballgame), adding molding (a chair rail perhaps?), throwing up some crown, and painting the ceiling for a less-harsh contrast between ceiling/wall…and then I ran across this posting over on Thrifty Decor Chick…

….and I said to myself, “Self, you really need to make your glamour potty a glimmer potty….and add some shimmery POW to those walls.  And who cares if you spend so much time thinking about your potty?  We all do it!  Some more than others and there’s no shame in that…”

And that, my friends, is how I find inspiration….by virtual ESP….and a whole slew of potty-humor jokes….and now we’re all in the know…

Thank you to Thrifty Decor Chick for the inspiration!  Head on over to her blog and show her some love!

2 thoughts on “Potty-rific

    • Hi, Sarah!

      Wow, what an honor, mon ami! Thanks so much for stopping by!! love your blog, btw!!!

      xoxo,
      L-blogger

Leave a Reply

