I left my heart in San Francisco – and my twenties…

“I have always been rather better treated in San Francisco than I actually deserved.” – Mark Twain

Christmas is always a busy time of year for everybody, but couple Christmas with a birthday and it’s downright pandemonium!  Hey, I didn’t choose my birthday, but it just so happened to fall smack-dab in between Christmas and New Year’s of ’79 and as my mother has so graciously explained it, I ruined her big plans for a night out on the town that evening – she even borrowed a maternity evening gown from a friend which she never got to wear!  Regardless, the time felt right to celebrate a certain milestone birthday with the hubs, the pupsters, and a beautiful city named San Francisco…

...but first a stopover in Sonoma, CA

Maggie is always popular on road trips, especially with the kiddies

A backlit Golden Gate Bridge

Frontlit Bridge

A ridiculously happy Pup!

Urban landscapes, daring to be beautiful

A visit with my long lost "Uncle Gee" in Chinatown, The Tea Nazi

Rice-a-Roni'n it up in the Streetcar

Sunset over Alcatraz

So there ya have it!  A very worth it drive down to San Francisco to celebrate a certain milestone birthday….oh, and don’t worry, my hubby took care of me for the big day…

Courtesy of the Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn...

3 thoughts on “I left my heart in San Francisco – and my twenties…

  1. Dude, love the photo journalistic tour of your trip. Isn’t there that saying that the coldest winter I ever spent was a summer in San Fran? So how does winter rate?

    • Jim –

      The saying goes, “The coldest winter of my life was a summer in San Francisco,” by Mark Twain! The winter wasn’t too bad, though! The bridge felt the same exact temperature as it did in the summer, however. But the city wasn’t too bad – maybe mid-50s?

      San Francisco is a city that is really difficult to take a bad picture of, though! I credit the source material, not the photographer 😉

      L

  2. Pingback: Portland, Oregon – locals living like tourists… « Tell'er All About It

Leave a Reply

