Drosphilia Melanogaster – ahhh….the fruit fly…

Pests! Pesky! Pains in the…ARGHHH!! Ya go away for a week and BAM! Fruit flies take over the world. Actually, we’re totally to blame. We had one tomato we left in our onion bowl and….so….ya know….*hangs head in shame*.  I’m a bad home-owner.

So I thought about just waiting it out, seeing if these little buggers (ba-dum-bum-CHING!) would just die out, but they were really persistent about eating my lunch and drinking my coffee, so I knew something had to be done!  However, I’m a lover of all things green and eco, so I had to try my hand at doing something naturally, the old fashioned-way, a la my Grandparents-suffering-through-the-Great-Depression-and-a-War-and-only-being-able-to-buy-sugar-once-a-month kind of way (did I mention that my Grandmother composts?  Awesome!).  So I utilized my third best resource (#1 and #2 being my Mom and G-ma) – le internet.

The solution?  So simple and disgusting it’s…..disgusting!  Basically you take a jar, glass, cup, whatever you have lying around.  Fill it up with a couple of tablespoons of vinegar.  I used balsamic and I am pi$$ed at myself for it – what a waste of darn good vinegar!!!.  You could probably use any you like – Apple Cider Vinegar would be good – even Apple Cider itself would be good, maple syrup, bananas, apples, avocados, etc, etc – anything sweet that you think the flies would like.  Put it into a glass and then put Saran Wrap (no, not very green, but I’m desperate!) around the glass and seal it tight!

Take a tooth pick and make very small holes along the top of the Wrap.  Be sure *not* to put holes close to the edge or else the Drosphilasliashjfjadfgadfgl;kj (you know what I mean) will try to escape.  You want the holes big enough so that the flies can squeeze their way through, but small enough so they can’t escape.  Muwahahah….it’s a fly trap!!!  Sit it somewhere close to the action (kitchen preferred) and just wait for the carnage to begin!

Now, I admit, I’m not a fan of killing innocent creatures.  However, if it makes you feel any better, Fruit Flies are the most commonly studied organisms in biology.  Why?  Because they are easy to take care of, breed better than rabbits, and lay lots of eggs.  Do I feel guilt about a Vinegar trap after that wondrous endorsement?  Meh…not so much.

The Verdict?

DSC_0356

Literally, 2 minutes after putting this trap out, the flies began to congregate!  After about 12 hours, we had a little colony drowning in Vinegar bliss.  They don’t call them Vinegar flies for nothing!  And no harsh chemicals used at all!  Just a little good old-fashioned kitchen know-how.

What do you think?  Would you use this method in your kitchen?  Do you have any other tips for me or the readers to use in their kitchens, baths, etc?  I’ve heard another good one about using Cinnamon or Cayenne sprinkled around the kitchen to get rid of ants – haven’t had to use that one, but I will the next time I need to!

One thought on “Drosphilia Melanogaster – ahhh….the fruit fly…

  1. Pingback: It’s Not Easy Being Green: How hard is composting…really?! « Tell'er All About It

Leave a Reply

