Guess what I just did…??

I finally…FINALLY took a shower in our almost completely remodeled bathroom!  You can drop all of the jokes about how I haven’t showered in months ’cause I’ve heard ‘em all!  Besides, we’ve been sharing tub time with all of our (frequent) house guests since March 5th in our guest bath!!!  So if you’re doing the math, then that means we haven’t used our own shower for 98 whole freaking days!!!  Ninety-eight days, my friends!!!  If you have the luxury of having your own bathroom adjacent to your bedroom, then you can totally understand where I’m coming from!!!  I HAVE MY SHOWER BACK!!!!!!!!  But it’s not really *my* shower, per se.  It’s some fancy schmancy person’s shower.  Like, “I can’t believe this is our shower,” shower!  Like I can’t believe it’s almost done shower!  Like I can’t believe it’s not butter!  Or margarine!  Or covered in black mold.  You HAVE to see the pics.  And we got ourselves a new camera a couple of weeks ago that takes wider angle pictures, so take a gander, m’friends!  But wait, don’t you want to see what it looked like before?  And all apologies to the picture quality, but a good camera really couldn’t make this bathroom any prettier before:

Ugh….that stupid light blocking arch.  That dark closet space of a shower that didn’t allow me to wash my hair without hitting my elbows against the walls.  The mismatched hardware and that beautiful line of black mold on the back wall.  Need I mention that we also didn’t have ANY storage in the shower?  There was no soap dish, no hooks, no shelves – nada, zip, zero.  Where in the ding dong am I supposed to put my collection of eleventy billion shampoos??  So nearly two years after we bought the house and 98 days after we demolished this sucker and put our OWN style into it here’s where we’re at…

Pretty cool, eh?!  The shower door is all installed, the floors, tiles and grout are sealed impeccably.  We have storage in the corners, a soap dish (A SOAP DISH!!), two shower heads (TWO!!!!!!!!  Yes, I’m excited, can you tell?!?!), a Carrera marble floor, gleaming white subway tiles and OMG….it all works, it doesn’t leak, it’s beautiful, glorious and oh-so-amazing!!!!!!!!  Here are some more pics, kids….OMG, I think it’s just gorgeous!

I had to throw in that last picture because I needed to show you the light that we added above the shower.  Remember, how I mentioned that shower area was SO DARK before?  We only had one dim boob light in that space and that arch just closed it off even more.  When we extended the walls (which you can visualize by clicking here and scrolling to the bottom two pictures), we closed off the shower from our only window in the room even more and desperately needed more light.  This brightens up the space like the Fourth of July, which is soooo important in a bathroom!

But seriously…what do you think??  Would you shower here?  HANDS OFF!!!  SHE’S ALL MINE!!!!!!!!  And I have the blood, sweat, tears and bruises to prove it!

We’re remodeling our master bathroom and it’s a doozy!  You can click on the following links below to see what it’s all about: The Bathroom begins…Demolition Day 1 and Day 2 and how we got rid of all that trash!  Our budget and a tile previewand a little look-see into what MY view is when my hubby is installing electrical and avideo view of what all of the demolition looked like before we started installing things. Check out our desperate attempt to keep the house clean while we renovate and another video update with a sneak peek at our gorgeous marble floors!  Then you can also see moments of despair as we struggle to maintain sanity after over a month of bathroom renovating!  And then there was paint…  And then the cabinets and toilet were installed…  And then we began tiling…….and then it started to look like a bathroom again!  And then I teased you in a major way….Stay tuned for more updates!

13 thoughts on “Guess what I just did…??

  1. Congratulations on the completion of your glam shower and bathroom, kids!! The shower is brilliant! Just as I shuddered in terror thinking, OMG, where’s the squeegee to keep those gorgeous doors spot-free, there it was–you leave no “river rock” unturned LOL :-)

    • @Jim –

      I shower with my contacts out, which is roughly equivalent to showering with eyes closed ;-). You can play, but only if you agree to play nicely ;-)

      xoxo,
      L-blogger

  2. OMG – I died laughing when I read your post today. But I’ve got you beat – I haven’t showered (in my shower) since Labor Day. The Mr. Laid some floor tile last week, but we are still waiting on grout. Why? Not sure. But I love what you’ve done! Especially the shower head – looks oddly similar to the one we picked up!

    Yay, for having your bathroom (almost) back!

    • @Erin –

      Oh, no! Since Labor Day?! You poor soul!! Get on that grout caravan, baby – it’s time to shower! :-)

      xoxo,
      L-blogger

  3. Pingback: Lightening never strikes twice….or does it? A tale of a twice Freshly Pressed Blog! « Tell'er All About It

  4. Pingback: Bad blogger, bad blogger! « Tell'er All About It

  5. Pingback: A little teaser… « Tell'er All About It

  6. Pingback: A look back….on bathroom renovation mayhem! « Tell'er All About It

  7. Pingback: Before & After Bliss: Our Monster Master Bathroom Renovation « Tell'er All About It

  8. Pingback: The Bathroom Benjamins – aka “The Budget” « Tell'er All About It

Leave a Reply

